Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Have a Vegan Wine - It's World Vegan Day!



Wine is clarified, or cleared, after fermentation. Some of the ingredients used include: 
  • edible gelatins (made from bones)
  • isinglass (made from the swim bladders of fish)
  • casein and potassium caseinate (milk proteins)
  • animal albumin (egg albumin and dried blood powder)
None of these products remain in the wine, to my knowledge, so, while the product was produced in a non-vegan way, the actual liquid in the glasss is okay for vegans. However, there are now many wineries making wine in the veagn manner, so it's not overrly difficult to find some if you so desire.
 

World Vegan Day is an annual event celebrated on 1 November, by vegans around the world. The Day was established in 1994 by Louise Wallis, then President and Chair of The Vegan Society UK. World Vegan Day marks the start of World Vegan Month every year, commemorating the coining of the term, 'vegan' and the founding of The Vegan Society in November 1944.

Find out how other people are celebrating through The Vegan Society Facebook page.

I'm not 100% vegan, though I'd like to be. Even if you’re not a vegan nor plan to become one, consider eating at least one meal this week without animal products. Or find and buy a vegan wine to enjoy!

Sources:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_Vegan_Day
http://www.vegansociety.com/News-And-Events/world-vegan-day/

No comments:

Post a Comment